The big issue: Birkenstocks and fast fashion

alexa chung in birkenstocks

By Terri Cluckie

Lately it has come to my attention that people don’t like my Birkenstocks. I know, it’s shocking. I thought we all loved Birkenstocks too.

I actually thought I was doing myself a favour when I bought my Arizona-dupe Primark fivers that are very comfortable and also very versatile but apparently I’m not the most fashionable person in the room. It wasn’t until recently when one of my best friends found my pair in my kitchen and thought they were my boyfriend’s that the cogs started turning. My other best friend has actually always hated them so I guess the signs have always been there but still, I’m shocked. How could I have been so wrong?

I pondered my shortcomings last Tuesday when I was alone in the house and came to the conclusion that I blame fast fashion. I blame cheap prices making everything so accessible and providing me with all these opportunities to be expressive and try new trends! But this is the problem with the (high street) fashion world. It makes us do crazy things. How often do we play Risk with new trends when the price tag is sky high? I think I’m in the same boat as many people here so will go ahead and speak for us when I say not often at all.

Places like Primark make fad trends so accessible that we will all continue to make the same mistakes over and over again in the vicious circle of life meaning my Birkenstock issues are only just the beginning. Lord help us. I mean, we’ll be walking away from the EU soon so for fuck sake can we just have a bit of mental clarity to know that we’ve at least got a decent pair of socially acceptable shoes on our feet?!

I’m getting carried away but I thought my purchase of the sandals was fool proof because I seen them on one of my favourite fashion blogs (R.I.P. AfterDRK) and if you can’t rely on your everyday gal to let you know what’s in and what’s not then who can you trust? Now, yes, that was two years ago so I admit time may be spent on my beloved sandals but they’re still being sold on ASOS so how am I supposed to know they’re not cool anymore?

Life is hard sometimes. Maybe I should admit defeat and move on. Maybe I should stand my ground and buy a new pair of Birkenstocks because I like them. Maybe none of this matters and I should go read another book or something. Maybe I’ll just go ponder some more.

Another interesting take on the Birkenstock debate: Manrepeller.com

[Photo credit: google.com]

Leave a Reply

