Mood-boosting outfit #1: after the baby

mood boosting outfit

By Terri Cluckie

These trousers were the gift to myself for after my baby was born. I haven’t had them on since he was two days old. That day I last wore them I had no make-up on so the dark circles under my eyes looked especially dark, my hair was up in a shitty bun and the white t-shirt I had on was full of holes and did the worst job of covering up the fact that my nursing bra gave me cone boobs because it is made entirely of one layer of cotton fabric (no padding whatsoever). I was not looking or feeling good that day, especially because my precious newborn was hating life and would not stop crying and given the fact that we had only met two days previous, both my partner and myself had no idea what to do with him so the screaming continued for most of the day.

But anyway.

Fast forward three weeks and life has settled a little. I still have no time for anything but every night just before he finally sleeps I take a few seconds to think about what I’m going to wear the next day because it makes me feel really good. I’ve never been so experimental in what I wear than I have been the past few weeks and I think it’s because I’m putting a lot of effort into the little things that make me feel good during a time when I don’t always feel so good.

Today I decided to wear my special trousers with a crop top I bought from Topshop almost three years ago but had yet to wear. I planned on wearing a red lip too but screaming baby = no time for precision = no red lip.

Make-up aside, I was really pleased with this outfit. So pleased I decided I needed to get out the house just to make sure at least one person I don’t know witnessed its greatness. That and I needed to go to the shop for fish for tea.

P.S. How good is Stranger Things? Is anybody else watching it? (stupid question).

[Image: It’s me]

Leave a Reply

